This three day, instructor-led IT Governance Foundation Course provides an overview of the main concepts of IT Governance according to COBIT® 5, ISACA® ’s latest governance framework, and how they can be applied. COBIT® 5 provides a comprehensive framework that assists enterprises create optimal value from IT by maintaining a balance between realising benefits and optimizing risk levels and resource use.

Duration: 3 days

Course Content:
  1. The Key Features of COBIT 5

    • The Reasons for the Development of COBIT®5
    • The History of COBIT®
    • The Drivers for developing a Framework
    • The Benefits of using COBIT®5
    • The COBIT® 5 Format & product Architecture
    • COBIT® 5 and Other Frameworks
  2. The COBIT 5 Principles

    • Topic 1: Enabler Focus
    • Topic 2: Control Objectives to Management Practices
    • Topic 3: From COBIT® 4.1 Management Guidelines to COBIT® 5: Enabling Processes Guidelines
  3. The COBIT 5 Enablers

    • Enabler 1 -Principles, Policies and frameworks
    • Enabler 2 -Processes
    • Enabler 3 -Organisational Structures
    • Enabler 4 -Culture, Ethics, and Behaviour
    • Enabler 5 -Information
    • Enabler 6 -Services, Infrastructure and Applications
    • Enabler 7 -People, Skills and Competencies
    • Walk Through on using Goals cascade to scope Processes
  4. Introduction to COBIT 5 Implementation

    • The Life cycle Approach
    • Inter related components of the life cycle
    • Understanding the enterprise internal and external factors
    • Key success factors for implementation
    • The seven phases of the Life Cycle model explained
    • The seven Change Enablement characteristics used in the life cycle.
    • Change Enablement relationships to the Continual Improvement Life Cycle
    • Making the Business case
    • The differences between COBIT® 4.1 and COBIT® 5
  5. Process Capability Assessment Model

    • What is a process assessment
    • What is the COBIT® Assessment Programme
    • The differences between a capability and maturity assessment
    • Differences to the COBIT® 4.1 CMM
    • Overview of the COBIT® Capability Model & Assessments
    • The Process Reference Model (PRM)
    • The Process Assessment Model (PAM)
    • The Measurement Framework
    • Introduction to the Assessor Training Steps
  6. Exam